8- Foot Notes

Leave a comment


[1] The author refers to the Ānāpānasati Sutta, which includes the Four Foundations of Mindfulness, as well as the Seven Enlightenment Factors.

[2] See “Thus Have I Heard. The Long Discourses of the Buddha”, translated by Maurice Walshe, Wisdom Publications (1987), p.556, which agrees with and refers to the original opinion by Rhys Davids.

[3] See the Majjhima Nikāya, sutta MN-36, the Mahāsaccaka Sutta.

[4] This means all nine of them! They are the four material jhānas, the four immaterial jhanas, and the cessation of perception and feelings.

[5] Here, the word “jhāna” carries the meaning of absorption concentration (appanā samādhi), or access concentration (upacāra samādhi). This is the stage right before mind becomes absorbed into the object of meditation. These are the standard definitions as given by other teachers.

[6] In this context, it only means absorption (appanā samādhi) and not access concentration (upacāra samādhi).

[7] Some meditation teachers call this momentary concentration or moment-to-moment concentration (khanika samādhi).

[8] Notice the plural form of the word sutta—this means seeing the agreement many times.

[9] This ceremony marks the end of the rains retreat where the monks gathered together to confess any slight wrong doing which they may have committed.

[10] This refers to talking and idle gossip. The monks waited patiently, and quietly doing their own meditation practices of expanding the silent mind and having clear mindfulness while waiting for the Buddha to speak.

[11] This refers to mindfulness of the body, mindfulness of feelings, mindfulness of consciousness, and mindfulness of mind objects.

[12] For example, see the Majjhima Nikāya, sutta MN-77, the Mahāsakuludāyi Sutta, and sutta MN-111, the Anupada Sutta.

[13] The links of Dependent Origination are specifically:

  • Ignorance: Ignoring or not understanding the Four Noble Truths and the links of Dependent Origination.
  • Formations: The potential for Formations (i.e. body, speech, mind) to arise.
  • Consciousness: The potential for Consciousness to arise on each one of the Six Sense Doors (eyes, ears, nose, tongue, body, mind).
  • Mentality-Materiality: Mental process of the sense doors, which includes all mental actions within the links, and the material body of those sense doors in reference to the Four Elements (earth, water, fire, and air).
  • Six-Fold Sense Base: The five external sense doors (eyes, ears, nose, tongue, body) and one internal sense door (mind).
  • Contact: The meeting of a sense door object (e.g. color and form) with its respective sense door (e.g. eyes) arouses Consciousness, and the coming together of the three is Contact.
  • Feeling: Either pleasant, painful, or neither-pleasant-nor-painful.
  • Craving: This is the “I like this” or “I don’t like this” mind, and this always manifests in tension and tightness in mind and body. This is where the 6R’s are applied.
  • Clinging: This is the story that runs in our mind about why “I like” or “I don’t like” whatever arises, including all of the thoughts, opinions, ideas, concepts, and imagination associated with that story.
  • Habitual Tendencies: A personal library of habitual re-actions which occur when a sense door cognizes something. Each person has a personal library of their re-actions to events that happen, which they have developed in their past.
  • Birth of Action: This is the birth of three kinds of action: bodily or physical action, verbal action, or mental action.
  • Aging and Death: The end of the event, which includes the aging of the event, sorrow, lamentation, pain, grief, despair, and the death of this event.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: